The winners of Schibsted Journalism Awards 2012

Sweden’s Aftonbladet and Norway’s VG are the winners of Schibsted Journalism Awards 2012.

Tonight’s festive prize ceremony concluded a full-day event in Oslo packed with highly relevant food-for-thought, insight and inspiration for journalists at Schibsted Media Group’s media houses.

On June 13th Schibsted Journalism Awards was arranged for the fifth time. Journalists and editors were present to honor exemplary journalism in text, photo, audio or live images produced in all of Schibsted Media Group's media houses. In each of the three categories “Best Storytelling”, “Best Innovative Entry” and “Best Scoop” the winners were honored with NOK 200,000.

- For a media group like Schibsted it is important to honor great journalism and the journalists and editorial rooms behind it. All the contributions from our media houses are proof of the great breadth and quality of their journalistic activities. I congratulate both the winners and the nominees for their great achievements, says Rolv Erik Ryssdal, CEO of Schibsted Media Group.

Click to see webcast of the entire Schibsted Journalism Awards conference and award ceremony.

The winners

Best Storytelling

Aftonbladet from Sweden won the award for “Best Storytelling” for the story ”Football after death”, by Erik Niva and Magnus Wennman.

With a clear personal style Erik Niva paints a vivid and gripping picture of the aftermath of war, terror and disaster. Football is the common denominator, but by giving new life and a strong voice to victims from Haiti, Libya, Japan and Norway, Nivas’ narrative infuses the game with a new meaning. “Football after death” is a brilliant example on how a simple but brave idea can win the reader’s engagement and circumvent the standard tale of ”what happened afterwards.” Niva is among the top players - a Messi in the field of journalism.


  • Svenska Dagbladet,“Thorwalls last wish”, by Karin Thunberg (reporter), Dan Hansson (photographer), Eva Johannesson (page designer).
  • Aftenposten, “Skolestua”, by Øyvind Tveter and Kjetil Østli

Best Innovative Entry from Norway won the award for Best Innovative Entry for the project “Interactive, visual and collaborative journalism”, by Dan Kåre Engebretsen and Tom Byermoen.

This entry is an exemplary celebration of the value of having programmers and designers in the newsroom. A new tool kit for online journalism was created in order to facilitate real-time, collaborative journalism and promote reader involvement in news production. The work of these two journalists provided a set of tools to tell strong journalist-driven stories and develop news in a innovative manner, which should have the power to inspire other to create cutting edge reader services when future news events occur.


  • Svenska Dagbladet, “iPad-appen Insikt”, by MagnusGylje, Ann Axelsson, Staffan Löwstedt, Anna Thurfjell, Joakim Ståhl, David Stillberg, Thomas Molén.

Best scoop

VG from Norway won the award for Best Scoop for the series “22nd of July 2011”, by Gordon Andersen, Mads A Andersen, Ronny Berg, Jarle Brenna, Eva-Theres Grøttum, Terje Helsingeng, Morten Hopperstad, Alf Bjarne Johnsen, Fridtjof Nygaard, Dennis Ravndal, Jorunn Stølan, Anne-Stine Sæther, Marius Tetlie, Hans Henrik Torgersen, Eric Utheim, Marianne Vik.

Verdens Gang made headlines around the world with a series of stories that any newspaper would be proud of. The photo reportage from the police reconstruction with Anders Bering Breivik is the very epitome of a scoop. The editorial effort during and after the terror attack shows high competence in journalistic methods and organizing skills, and also highlights the importance of teamwork in the journalistic process. With a mission to achieve the greatest scoops, the Verdens Gang team created world-class, high-caliber journalism.


  • Bergens Tidende, “PST and Global Shield”, aby Tron Strand, Rune Christophersen, Øyvind Lefdal Eidsvik
  • Postimees, “Andrus Veerpalu”, by Tuuli Koch og Peep Pahv